May 23, 2007

Randolph On The Second Base Umpire

Matthew Cerrone at Mets Blog, writes about the second base umpire in last night's loss to the Braves:

Willie Randolph, on the ump’s explanation, while talking with reporters after last night’s game…

“[The umpire gave] the same explanation you always get, when an umpire calls that play too soon, that he was taking it out. And clearly he wasn't even close to taking it out of his glove. He actually reached for the ball, you know. But, you know, they all kind of fall back on that play, and they need to take a better look at that, because it’s one thing to take the ball out of your glove, and be in the process of doing it, and, in this case, obviously it popped out. But, you know, we didn’t amount to any scoring threats and didn’t swing the bats, so, it didn’t really mean much. I mean, it would have been nice to have the bases loaded and nobody out, but, you know, again, he pitched well enough to beat us tonight.”

No comments: